Lemons for the Soul

 

 

I have been sick all week. I have also had to work a lot this week. I only work part time, but I have spent the majority of the past two days dragging my kids around all day missing nap time and feeling sick. By the time I clocked out today and merged onto the highway just to sit in bumper to bumper traffic I was in a terrible mood. This got me to thinking about why I was so angry? Traffic is no fun and working during nap time is certainly not fun either when it produces some cranky kids, but those aren’t reasons to be angry. I did some heart searching and realized how out of control I was feeling. I hate when my kids miss nap time. I felt the reason I had to work this afternoon was inappropriate. Add to that feeling sick and by the time I was in the car all I wanted was to get home as quickly as possible and put on my jammies. So sitting in traffic was just the icing on the cake of my not- in -control issue. This realization brought to mind the saying:

When Life Gives You Lemons Make Lemonade

I always thought this was a cute saying and I liked it. After the week I’ve had you could say I had a bunch of lemons to deal with.  But, do I really believe in making lemonade with them? Or better yet, CAN I make lemonade?  I don’t think so. I do believe that I serve a loving sovereign God who ordains whatsoever comes to pass, including long work days and traffic. And best of all I believe He is working all these lemons into lemonade FOR me. All I have to do is rest in Him. Trust in Him. Believe in Him. I don’t have to turn difficult circumstances into non-difficult circumstances. I can trust that God is working all things together for my good and for His glory. Romans 8:28 came to mind.  And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose. So what is God’s purpose with these lemons or any lemons in life? I believe it is to reveal to me those heart issues I have. The need to be in control or comfortable. Loving those things more than I love Him. They are idols in my heart. By revealing these to me God is reminding me to rest in Him. To love Him most of all. I take such comfort in knowing that He loves me while I am yet a sinner. I also take comfort in knowing that He is using these lemons to accomplish molding me to be more like Jesus. Hallelujah what a Savior!

2 Comments

Filed under devotions, Heart

2 responses to “Lemons for the Soul

  1. What great thoughts you have. Lord knows that I’ve had some awful lemons in my life lately and I am having a very hard time getting through daily, simple tasks. I wish that I relied on Jesus as much as you do, to help me get through life.

    Just wanted to say thanks for your words. I hope that they can be an inspiration to me.

  2. Thank you for sharing dear friend. You are one amazing woman of God. And I’d love to have some lemonade with you! xo

Leave a Reply

